Good morning little bird.

While on my way down to the cafe the other morning, I cut across a section of ‘field’ I guess you could say, between two parking lots (where a factory used to be). And I suddenly came across this little fella’, spreading out his shoulders and fanning out his tail and taking a few steps towards me. I stopped, he startled me a bit since I didn’t see him at first, not until I was just a few feet away. I took another step, he took another step or two towards me. I wasn’t sure what was going on until I noticed the shallow nest with four little eggs in it just to his (or her) left, your right. So I bid him or her good day and walked around. It’s a good thing he caught my attention otherwise I may have walked into the nest.killdeerbirdy

This little bird is a Killdeer by the way, I haven’t seen one in many years. I had forgotten what kind of bird he or she is, until a couple of friends of mine enlightened me. The eggs are camouflaged with speckles so as to blend in with the surroundings, good defense against predators. Not so good if a stumbling human possibly wonders on through, not paying attention, and accidentally destroys the nest & eggs. On my way down today I’ll stop by and see if all is still good, and hopefully not get attacked by the mother. 🙂

TN.

Leave a Reply

