Feeling a little nostalgic…….

This Christmas week, I’ve been looking back a bit more than I usually do. Thinking about past Christmases & winters. Thinking about old friends, some of which I have lost touch with over the many years, old pets, places I’ve worked in my life during this season, Christmases & New Years Eves during the high school and college years, family Christmas dinners and New Years dinners, especially of those when I was a kid, at my Grandmother’s house. Amusing visions of my father and his traditional turkey leg, there are photos, somewhere. The sounds, music, the smells from the kitchen, and the various goodies and treats about. The eggnog even tasted better back then, creamier.

It was during these early days, in the late ’70s maybe, that my tradition of watching ‘Scrooge’ with Alister Sim started. I must admit however, that in the last few years or so, I haven’t been following this tradition, ever since about 2004 or ’05. I used to watch it 2 maybe 3 times every year, even if I was alone, which I did this year actually, so maybe the tradition continues… My other tradition of watching White Christmas started years later, I’m not exactly sure when, but it faltered as well, and has been revived. Yet another tradition of putting up my Christmas Village decoration started in 2000, and went on strong until this year, unfortunately I wasn’t overly inspired to put it up. My girlfriend put hers up instead though. Maybe next year, if I can find it in the basement.

I’ve been reminiscing about the ’70s, but mostly about the ’80s, ’90s and early 2000s, but ever since 2004/2005 it’s been a bit of a roller coaster. There are good memories, and bad. The good memories are mostly of a little girl who I was once the step-father of for many years, who has moved on and I wish her all the best in the future. Although the future of the world seems bleak at best, but that’s another post for another time….. This season was nice however, had a lovely dinner with an old friend and his family and so on, visited with and had a Christmas Day brunch with my parents, which was also very nice. Some friends and family I didn’t get to see, maybe next year. And it seems that, no one else likes to go shopping when it’s busy out there, but me. Even better if the weather is bad. I don’t know why I like it that way, past memories probably. Makes it more exciting it seems.

This Christmas, I was pleased that it snowed on Christmas Day, to add to the snow already on the ground. A few days earlier there had been bit of an ice storm, that knocked out the power for a few hours here, but elsewhere others weren’t quite so lucky. I believe there are some folks that are still without power even today. Hopefully they were/are able to stay warm.  It snowed on Boxing Day as well which was nice.

Well, before I sign off for today after this short little post, (maybe one day I’ll elaborate a little more on the memories I’ve mentioned) I’m hoping you all had a Merry Christmas, and all are well. I also wish everyone a Happy New Year, and all the best to come in 2014!

Cheers!

Cheers!

Getting the Christmas Glow on. Cheers!

2 responses to “Feeling a little nostalgic…….

  1. Pingback: A Generational Look at Christmas | small house/BIG GARDEN

Leave a Reply

