Things I find…

Mystery KnifeA little while ago I was peeking around the nooks and crannies in the basement of this old house which I live in. This house is about 100 years old or more. Probably more. So the basement is a little shallow, I have to bend a little in places, the walls are stone and mortar. It gets a little damp down here, but my dehumidifier helps a little with that. Anyway, during a little snooping around down there, I found, tucked away between the top of the supporting pillar, (also made of stone and mortar) and the ceiling, an old knife. A little rusted out, with leather strips for a handle/hilt. Not length wise, but width wise. As if you took a cucumber and chopped it up down the length, creating little circles of cucumber, then putting the slices back together again. That’s the best way i could describe it, I’ll add a photo of this knife to this post. I have no idea what kind of knife this could be, where it came from or how old it is. I tried researching it, but to no avail. And, around the same area, I found an old beer bottle, a stubby. Of Black Label. I haven’t seen a stubby beer bottle in years. Makes me wonder what else I could find down there. And once in awhile, I can hear the spirits that live upstairs. When no one is up there, and I’m absolutely positive of the fact, I can here movement. I wonder what they’re up too sometimes.

One response to “Things I find…

  1. By the way, that’s a Loonie ($1 Canadian coin) beside the knife in the first photo, It may be hard to tell, for those of you who aren’t familiar with Canadian currency. Cheers.

Leave a Reply

